IBF 11. European SSM Round Table

European System of Financial Supervision (ESFS)
Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM)

In the ESFS context, the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) is the first pillar of the EU Banking Union. SSM ensures the soundness of the banking sector and aims at consistent banking supervision in the participating countries. It comprises the European Central Bank (ECB) and the national competent authorities (NCA’s) in the Euro area. ECB grants the role of prudential supervision to monitor the financial stability of eligible banks, mitigating systemic and individual risk. Direct supervision nowadays entails 117 „significant“ banks which account for almost 82% of the total assets of all supervised entities. It goes hand in hand with the SSM responsibility for the other some 6,000 less significant banks in the area; they, however, are supervised in day-to-day business by the NCAs – in close cooperation with the ECB.

SSM’s supreme body is the Supervisory Board which reports to the ECB Governing Council and is currently chaired by Andrea Enria. Four business units also known as Directorates General (DG) and the Secretariat complete the organization. Several other ECB units and services support the ECB banking supervision.

After it became operational on 4 November 2014, the SSM has been developing a state-of-the-art supervisory architecture and a unique professional network of experts. The SSM ensures that pertinent rules and measures are interpreted and applied consistently across all participating countries. This facilitates close cooperation with the other pillars of the EU Banking Union – regulation by the European Banking Authority EBA as well as guidance and help for troubled banks by the Single Resolution Board SRB.

Reflecting on the location of the ECB headquarters in Frankfurt am Main and the number of significant banks involved, a high profile Round Table has been established to exchange views and feed back between decision takers from the banks involved with representatives of the ECB, SSM, EBA, SRB, ESM and other European entities. The 11th European Round Table SSM focussed on „Management of Non-Financial Risks – the next big Challenge“. The 11th European SSM Round Table was scheduled for  May 2020 with the Bank of Finland in Helsinki.  

The European SSM Round Table – as a neutral platform – was initiated by the IBF International Bankers Forum e.V. in November 2014. The International Bankers Forum e.V. is the largest privately initiated bankers‘ association in Germany, with some 1,000 finance professionals, banks, financial institutions, fintechs and corporates as personal and institutional members. The memberships of the European Central Bank and Deutsche Bundesbank underline IBF’s acknowledged neutral position in the financial community. Since November 2016, the Round Table is organized in cooperation with FIRM The Frankfurt Institute for Risk Management and Regulation, and has developed into an established continuous event.

Informationen und Programm

Freitag, 15. November 2019

9.00 Uhr   (Registrierung)
10.00 Uhr (Beginn)
12:00 Uhr (Presentations & Joint Discussion)
15:30 Uhr (Ende der Veranstaltung)


Banco de España, Calle de Alcalá 48,
28014 Madrid, Spanien


Margarita Delgado                                      
Deputy Governor, Banco de España, Madrid

Dr. Hermann Reuter                                   
Vice Chairman, International Bankers Forum e.V., Frankfurt am Main

Andrea Pozzi                 
Global Head of Non-Financial Risk, Grupo Santander, Madrid

Matthias Bulach  
Executive Director, Member of the Management Board, CaixaBank, Barcelona

Stefan Bochtler  
Principal, The Boston Consulting Group, Munich

 Mario Quagliariello 
Director Economic Analysis and Statistics, European Banking Authority (EBA), Paris

 José María Roldàn               
Chairman and CEO, Spanish Banking Association (AEB), Madrid

Dr. Maciej Piechocki Partner
RegTech Management Board, BearingPoint,
Frankfurt am Main (Moderation)   

Carolina Toloba Gómez                             
IT risk supervisor, Directorate General Banking Supervision, Banco de España, Madrid  

Dr. Thomas Poppensieker                       
Leader Task Force Non-Financial Risks, The Frankfurt Institute for Risk, Management and Regulation
Frankfurt am Main                                               

Rocío Sánchez Barrios                                
Director Public Policy, Spanish Banking Association (AEB), Madrid  (Moderation)





Sponsoren und Partner


Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

Diesen Beitrag teilen